Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada M.P. Deepak Obhrai today met the Croatian Ambassador to Canada Vesela Mrden Korac, to mark the 17th Anniversary of Diplomatic relations between Croatia and Canada.

"Croatia became a NATO member in 2009, representing impressive progress since its war-torn years. Canada strongly supported Croatia’s NATO membership and has lifted visa restrictions on Croatian nationals since 2009, " stated Parliamentary Secretary Deepak Obhrai. "Canada would also like to see Croatia`s full integration into Euro-Atlantic structures."

Diplomatic relations between Canada and the Republic of Croatia were formally established on April 14, 1993, just a year after Canada joined the EU and other countries, recognizing Croatia's independence earned on January 15, 1992.

Photo shows (from L to R) : Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice, M.P. Bob Dechert; M.P. Jeff Watson; Croatian Ambassador Vesela Mrden Korac; Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, M.P. Deepak Obhrai; Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification Lynne Yelich; and M.P. Ed Holder.